2018 NCSSS Professional Conference

The National Consortium of Secondary STEM Schools (NCSSS) invites you to participate in the 2018 NCSSS Professional Conference!  This event will be held November 7-10, 2018 in Houston, Texas at the Hilton Houston Post Oak.

Our vision is to serve as the resource for secondary STEM schools by supporting collaboration and knowledge sharing while providing professional development for teachers and administrators to positively impact student achievement in authentic STEM educational environments. 

The NCSSS 2018 Program Committee asks that member schools support this vision by submitting proposals showcasing innovative practices at their schools, that could benefit colleagues and students throughout the world, related to all aspects of STEM education. 

The conference seeks multiple types of proposals to include:
- 50-Minute Education Sessions: Sessions may include presentation with discussion time or panel discussions with multiple participants.
- 50-Minute Roundtable Discussions: Facilitated interactive discussions that allow for in-depth networking and sharing among the participants on a specific topic.  Facilitators should bring targeted questions to pose to others at the table in order to learn from and with those attending.  
- 1 Hour 50-Minute Hands-On Workshops:  Comprehensive sessions designed to provide instructional and positive learning experiences incorporating brainstorming, collaboration, and lots of interaction.
Sessions, roundtables, and workshops should focus on pedagogy and best practices of STEM education in one of the following strands:  
  • Administration
  • Admissions/Enrollment Management
  • College and/or Career Counseling
  • Curriculum
    • Computer Science
    • Engineering/Makerspace/Technology
    • Humanities
    • Interdisciplinary
    • Mathematics
    • Research
    • Science
  • Diversity
  • Outreach/Partnerships/Pipelines/Summer Programs
  • Wellness/School Climate/Academic Integrity/Mindset

The goal of all workshops is for participants to gain valuable resources, make connections with presenters and other educators, and receive insight into successful pedagogy, with the possibility of implementation of some or all of the best practices into their school environment where possible.

Proposals must include the following information to be considered:
Select the strand that best fits your proposal *
Session Type
See descriptions above for explanation of session types
0/100 words
0/500 words

Presenter(s) Information 

List primary speaker first, include information below for all speakers
Is your school/organization/company a member of NCSSS? *
0/250 words
Additional Presenter(s) Information, if applicable 
0/250 words
Additional Presenter(s) Information, if applicable 
0/250 words

Please be sure to click on submit.  If you encounter any problems uploading your submission, please contact Danielle Cummings at danielle.cummings@ncsss.org.  

The deadline for proposals is 11:59 pm ET on Friday, March 16, 2018.  Notifications will be sent in early May 2018. All submissions will be evaluated on technical quality, writing and presentation, and relevance to secondary STEM schools.  

Successful proposers should be prepared to submit a draft copy of their presentation by October 19, 2018. Final presentations will be posted in the app and/or website for attendee reference post-conference. In addition, some sessions may be selected for videotaping, which will be shared online post-conference. All workshops and sessions may be photographed for possible inclusion on the website or other marketing materials.

All successful proposers must register and pay full conference registration. 

We look forward to receiving your proposals and to your attendance at the 2018 conference.

The 2018 Professional Conference Program Committee:

​Michael Barney (Chair), Massachusetts Academy of Math and Science at Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Ann Bonitatibus, The Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology
Russell Davis, Bergen County Academies
Danny Dorsel, South Carolina Governor's School for Science and Mathematics
Jason Flowers, The Liberal Arts and Science Academy
Robert Hernandez, Illinois Math and Science Academy
Kristi Key, Louisiana School for Math, Science, and the Arts
William Perkins, Saint Louis University
Todd Roberts, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics
Tonya Snyder, Berrien County Mathematics and Science Center
Tom Steinbach, Wheeling High School
Alan Whittemore, Maine School of Science and Mathematics
Powered byFormsite